Access the Wall Street Journal digital microfilm for 2008 through the present year here. After clicking the link, select the Wall Street Journal from the dropdown menu.
Full-text articles from the Wall Street Journal from 1979 through the present through the Factiva database. The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record, offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. To look for specific articles or search on a topic, click on "Search" at the top of the screen.
The Wall Street Journal Historical offers full-text and full-image articles for the Wall Street Journal from 1889-1998. Every issue includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
The CQ Press Washington Information Directory Online Edition brings together CQ Press's wealth of contact and descriptive information on more than 10,000 federal government offices, regulatory agencies, congressional committees, judicial offices, public interest groups, nongovernmental organizations, and international organizations in a single, easy-to-use, and fully integrated database. Searchable and browsable, the Washington Information Directory Online Edition provides verified and updated mailing addresses, phone and fax numbers, e-mail and Web site addresses, contact names, and descriptions for thousands of organizations—along with a letter template tool, a customizable address book, and much more.
NOTE: All free accounts end 12/31/17. Beginning 1/1/18, students can subscribe via the academic rate.
If you have a .gov, .mil, or .edu email address, you are eligible for a free subscription to the Washington Post online (National Digital + D.C. Edition).
Full text image and indexing of the Washington Post from its beginning in 1877 until 1998. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. It includes display and classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary, literary criticism as well as articles.
To test President John F. Kennedy’s commitment to civil rights, the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) proposed a Journey of Reconciliation. The “Freedom Ride” had an interracial group boarding buses destined for the South. At rest stops, whites would go into blacks-only areas and vice versa. A civil rights group's mission - and the FBI's coverage of it - provide a perspective into American politics and society. Includes surveillance reports, chronologies, witness statements and more. These materials provide unique (and in some cases recently declassified) insight into the Freedom Rides, the Kennedy administration and the segregated South.
Formerly known as Web of Knowledge
The Web of Science provides access to all databases listed below:
Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science Additional Databases
Current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited.
The Web of Science Core Collection includes the following databases:
WGSN use is restricted to registered users with an @miamioh.edu email address. Users must be on campus when creating account for the first time. Accounts expire every 90 days and must be renewed while on campus. Click the link below to create a new account or log in if you already have an account.
WGSN is a fashion trend forecaster that offers consumer trend forecasts up to two years in advance, new and breaking trends, millions of images, thousands of royalty free CADs and designs, fourteen product categories, and thousands of street style reports.
Wiley Online Library hosts a broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. The platform allows seamless integrated searching of Wiley e-journals and e-books. Materials marked with an open lock icon are available to Miami users.
William Butler Yeats Collection is a complete electronic version of the scholarly edition of Yeats's work, bringing together 22 printed volumes and including critical and fictional prose, poetry, plays, and autobiographical works.
This database includes documents from the President's Commission on the Status of Women, Institute for Women's Policy Research, papers of women active in the women's movements as well as selected speeches diaries and other publications.
Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible. The range of genres and topics covered provides an unparalleled view of women’s literate culture in the early modern period.
This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature.
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. Available publications include World Bank published books from 2009-2012 (which includes flagship publications, academic books and practitioner volumes), all World Development Reports (WDRs) since 1978, Policy Research Working Papers (PRWP) from 2009-2012, Economic and Sector Work (ESW) studies from 2009-2012, journal articles from 2007-2010 published in World Bank Economic Review (WBER) and World Bank Research Observer (WBRO), and World Bank Group Annual Reports and Independent Evaluation Studies. New content will include: Content published prior to 2009 (and prior to 2007 in the case of the WBER and the WBRO), bank-authored content published by third party publishers including journal articles, books and chapters, links to datasets associated with a specific work, and other knowledge products published by the World Bank.
World Book Online includes more than 1.3 million pages of articles, primary source documents, books, documents, audio and video content, and other selections fully integrated with encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include timelines, citation builder, and saved research.
World history in video is an online collection of streaming videos that gives users access to critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Upon completion the collection will include more than 1750 documentaries that offer a survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall. World history in video covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced since 1966. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 98 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia. The more than 92,375 records in this version cite several hundred thousand additional reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings.
Worldcat is the world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic database for books, journal titles, media, manuscripts and other materials held in libraries. Created by OCLC member libraries, Worldcat is the first place to look for bibliographic verification of any title ever published. However, if you want to limit your search to items held by Miami University Libraries, use the MUL catalog. Materials not owned by Miami or by an OhioLINK library must be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
WRDS includes historical financial data from CRSP and COMPUSTAT. COMPUSTAT (from Standard & Poor's) provides current and historical Income Statements, Balance Sheets, Statements of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items on more than 24,000 publicly held companies. CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices) maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets. Additional free data sets include: Bank Regulatory, Blockholders, CBOE Indexes, CISDM, DMEF, Dow Jones, FDIC,Fama French, Momentum, and Liquidity, Federal Reserve Bank Reports, PHLX, Penn World Tables, SEC Disclosure of Order Execution, and TRACE.